Chemistry is a fundamental branch of science devoted to the study of the nature, properties, composition and interaction of matter. Chemistry covers broadly three branches, viz. organic, inorganic and physical chemistry. However, today’s scientific world demands scientists to think across disciplines; consequently there are numerous sub-branches of chemistry such as environmental chemistry, analytical chemistry, industrial chemistry, green chemistry, biochemistry, nano chemistry, biophysical chemistry, catalysis and many more.

The Department of Chemistry at NIT Rourkela, over a period of time, has acquired many advanced analytical equipments such as NMR, ESI Mass spectrometer, surface area analyzer, FTIR, UV-Vis, HPLC, Potentiostat/galvanostat, Fluorescence spectrometer etc. The current research focus of the department includes Environmental Chemistry, Organic synthesis, Natural products, Organometallics, Metal Clusters, Nanomaterials, Organic-Inorganic Hybrid materials, coordination chemistry, Biophysical Chemistry, Computational Chemistry, Catalysis, Spectroscopy and Nano-Biomaterials.

Head of the Department

Prof. Priyabrat Dash

  0661-2462651 (HOD)
  0661-2462664 (Off)

Office Address

Department of Chemistry
 National Institute of Technology Rourkela
 Rourkela, Odisha - 769008